Do you hate me? Thanks

Hatred

I remember her pretty face so well. She was my classmate and my neighbour. We were six and we were friends. When I topped my class, she pinched me real hard in the school bus and exclaimed, “You are so intelligent”. When we reached home, she rushed before me to tell my parents that I topped the class. While leaving, she pulled my cheeks so hard that I screamed. By the time next session started, many of my classmates didn’t speak to me. When I tried talking, they would make faces or drift away. The more teachers liked me, the more I felt aloof. I didn’t understand what was going on unless she left the school after a year.

One of the friends said, “She hated you because others loved you.”

I remember the feeling that I never wanted to feel. Thank You, I could never hate anyone.

While heading a B-school, a very senior guy joined as an advisor. As his office was being done up, he kept an all Dean’s meeting in my chamber without asking me. I conveyed my displeasure to the Board.

After the meeting, he called me for a one-to-one interaction.

“I am trying to figure out what do I dislike in your personality?” he said.

“Please take your time to figure it out.” I said with a smile.

I remember the feeling. It made me resilient enough to not get impacted by dislike or hatred or bullying.

People nurse hidden hate. People show it angrily in groups. People troll and show their insecurities. People agitate and intimidate. Hatred consumes them totally.

Feel sad to see these sadists. Ignore their outbursts. Don’t try to help because they can’t be helped. Show that it doesn’t matter. Thank you for showering your intense dislike and hatred….. I can never hate anyone.

****

Dr. Swati Lodha is an Author, Entrepreneur, Motivational Speaker, Parenting expert based in Mumbai. Having written Bestsellers like Come on get set go  &  Why Women are What they are, her book on Parenting will be published soon. Currently, she is running Life Lemonade which offers unique Training Programs on Life Transformation, High Performance Leadership, Women Issues and Parenting.

Connect with Dr. Swati Lodha on Linkedin, Twitter @drswatilodha Facebook

Also read her best articles here!

Leave a Reply

