Grandparenting is ‘grand’ parenting!!

 

Matti

Matti (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

You may find it odd but this is a fact.

 

My 12 year old has four best friends-her paternal and maternal grandparents.She has her joy time with all of them which is full of fun and learning.

 

I never imagined that my doctor dad who is very quiet, would share his childhood secrets with her.They play chess together .They water the plants together and give high fives on discovering a new pod in the bushes.She keeps a photograph of her grandpa holding her at her bedside and sees it first thing in the morning.

 

My mom,a hardcore disciplinarian feeds her all the nutritious soya cakes,mixed vegetable porridges, using her convincing skills and culinary expertise.I would lose my patience thinking about it only while she performs the inconceivable task of feeding her with a pure healthy diet everyday.The best part is they play badminton and do power yoga together.

 

My dad-in -law is a wonderful man with a superb sense of humor.He is a carom champion and a master storyteller.My daughter never finishes her day without listening to his funny anecdotes.They bond like best buddies and make all of us laugh.

 

My mum -in-law is physically challenged due to an accident that was almost fatal but her indomitable spirit and love for life is infectious.She is extremely fond of music and my little one is training to be a classical singer.They sing and enjoy themselves.

 

This is a life chosen by me and my husband where our parents are the best friends of our daughter.

 

Believe me, it is not a fairy tale as we all are individuals with different tastes, aspirations and expectations.Still,we have made it work because it is worth it.Grandparenting is a boon for the young children who can get the most trusted friends in their grandparents who double up as the best guides when it comes to answer the tough questions of life.

 

For every MOON PARENT,grandparenting is ‘GRAND’ parenting!

 

36 - High Five

36 – High Five (Photo credit: Holtsman)

 

3 comments on “Grandparenting is ‘grand’ parenting!!

  1. Shivani Jain says:

    Mam i agree to you about grandparenting being a boon the PROS are many ; but it sometimes grandparents out of love overlook child’s misbehavior and wrong doings rather encourages them which in long run affects the child in a negative way.

    Like

  2. reshmi578 says:

    I agree with you. My parents are my only savior if I need to leave my kids and go anywhere. This reminds me of the new video of 2 naanis having a dance off on Nani Teri Morni. I think you should have a look, its hilarious! http://bit.ly/jumpinNaniVsNaani

    Like

    • drswatilodha says:

      Thanks Reshmi.I saw the video.Our parents are the only saviors for us but I wish that our parents should also be saying the same thing for us.My moon parenting concept talks about children taking full care of their parents in their twilight years, coming full circle.Parents are fully present in the lives of their children in the initial years (like a full moon) and the same should happen when they grow old.

      Like

Leave a Reply

